

COMMITTEE CHARTER

Community Advisory Committees

Date adopted by Council	24 February 2025	
Minute number	25/018	
Endorsed by	Senior Management Group – 18 December 2024	
CM Ref	CD-79/24	
Due for review	At the expiry of the term of the current Council	
Responsible officer	General Manager	

Background

Council operates a number of advisory committees in order to access local expertise and help meet its objectives. By using community members, Council can actively work and connect with the community. The advice provided by committees is invaluable as a consultative and information mechanism.

In February 2022 Council resolved to form four new Community Advisory Committees:

- Aberdeen District Community Advisory Committee
- Merriwa District Community Advisory Committee
- Murrurundi District Community Advisory Committee
- Scone District Community Advisory Committee

Purpose and Objectives

The purpose of Council's Community Advisory Committees is to advise Council on the needs or issues of a particular community and to inform Council's decision making and work relating to these communities. These will be broad based committees that consider a wide range of issues that affect local communities including local capital works and maintenance, town improvement, economic development, tourism and events, local consultation on key issues, and Integrated Planning & Reporting.

Membership

Each of the Community Advisory Committees shall comprise of between two and three councillors and between four and eight community members. Members will be appointed by Council after an expression of interest process, with the term of memberships expiring with the term of the current Council. Community members should reside in the area covered by the Committee to which their application is made. Councillors who are non-committee members are able to attend but will not be able to vote.

Councillors may appoint additional members to the committee by resolution at a Council meeting.

Chairperson

The Committee chairperson is to be a councillor elected by the committee.

Quorum

A quorum shall consist of a majority of members, including at least one councillor.



Roles and Responsibilities

- To represent the views, interests and identified issues that affect the communities in their respective areas and provide strategic advice and positive input.
- The recommendations made will go to the next available Council meeting at which any decision will be made in relation to any recommendation.
- Make every effort to attend Committee meetings. Where a member is absent for three consecutive meetings without registering an apology their position will be declared vacant.
- Abide by Council's Code of Conduct at all times and participate in Code of Conduct training if requested to do so.
- No member of an Advisory Committee is able to make media or public comment on behalf of the Council at any time

Meetings

Meetings will take place each quarter. The dates and time will be determined by each Committee

The committee will attempt to reach consensus of decisions. In situations where it appears that a consensus cannot be reached upon a recommendation, it will be necessary for the chairperson to call a vote on the proposed recommendation. The vote shall be by a show of hands. In cases of a tied vote, the chairperson will have a casting vote. Any dissent may be recorded at the request of the dissenter(s).

Meetings will be conducted in accordance with the principles of the Code of Meeting Practice and Code of Conduct.

Agenda & Minutes

The business papers (including the Agenda and Minutes) shall be completed by a UHSC staff member of the committee and distributed to all members and to other persons 3 days prior to the meeting date (in accordance with Council policy).

Venue

Meetings will be held in the towns of Merriwa, Murrurundi and Scone. The Aberdeen Committee could meet in either Scone or a suitable facility in Aberdeen.

Committee Boundaries

The four committees will cover the whole of the Upper Hunter Shire as follows:

- Aberdeen District Aberdeen and Rouchel
- Merriwa District Merriwa to Bunnan Bridge and Cassilis (and West)
- Murrurundi District Murrurundi (and north) and Blandford
- Scone District Bunnan, Parkville, Wingen, Scone (and east of Scone)

Version History

Version No.	Date	CM Ref	Reason for Review
1	24/02/2025	CD-79/24	New term of Council